SV University pride of Andhra Pradesh: Governor Biswabhusan Harichandan

SV University pride of Andhra Pradesh: Governor Biswabhusan Harichandan

Vijayawada, June 23 (prajaamaravathi): Andhra Pradesh Governor and Chancellor of Sri Venkateswara University Sri Biswabhusan Harichandan participated in the 58th, 59th, 60th, 61st and 62nd combined Convocation held in Srinivasa Auditorium in Tirupati on Thursday, in virtual mode from Raj Bhavan. 

Delivering the Convocation address, Chancellor Sri Harichandan said that Sri Venkateswara University has seen excellent growth, going from strength to strength and rose in stature over the past sixty-eight years, as a premier institute of higher learning in the country and that he was happy to know that it has been accredited with ‘A+’ Grade by NAAC and selected under Category–I grade autonomy status, as one among the top 10 Universities in India by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

“It is truly a matter of pride for our State that Sri Venkateswara University has secured high ranking in many categories among the Universities in India and Asia and received funding and research grants from several national and International agencies and entered into collaborative research agreements through Memorandum of Understating, to conduct research work in frontier areas of national and International importance,” said the Chancellor.

The Chancellor said that the National Education Policy-2020 has brought about a paradigm shift in the Higher Education sector in the country as an inclusive, participatory, and holistic approach with a progressive shift that can bring India at par with the leading countries of the world. 

Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Chairperson, NEP-2020 drafting committee, delivered his address as the Chief Orator at the combined Convocation and said that the NEP 2020 policy consisted of three important elements such as liberal Undergraduate education, research and educational technology and said the NEP 2020 enables multiple entry and exit with Postgraduate programmes of one-year and two-year durations and research at Undergraduate-level with direct access to PhD. He said that the policy was designed with an intellectual, aesthetic, ethical and social approach to multidiscipline system of education to ensure that India becomes a knowledge-based economy, leading the way towards Atmanirbhar Bharat. Dr. Kasturirangan appreciated the proposal of Sri Venkateswara University to set up a ‘Centre of Excellence in Educational Technology’, within the University, as part of NEP 2020 recommendations. 

The University conferred the Honorary Degrees of Doctor of Letters on Sri Chandra Bhanu Satpathy, a noted Philanthropist and Sri Narala Rama Reddy, renowned Avadhani and Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science on Dr. Indla Rama Subba Reddy, eminent Psychiatrist. Prof. K. Raja Reddy, Vice Chancellor, Sri Venkateswara University, presented the University’s annual reports. Prof. R.V.S. Satyanarayana and Prof. M. Srinivasulu Reddy felicitated Chancellor Sri Harichandan with a memento and shawl, on behalf of Sri Venkateswara University. 

Prof. K. Hemachandra Reddy, Chairman, Andhra Pradesh State Council of Higher Education and Sri R.P. Sisodia, Special Chief Secretary to Governor, have also attended the Convocation.